Marcie Rendon is an enrolled member of the White Earth Nation, author, playwright, poet, and freelance writer. Also a community arts activist, Rendon supports other native artists / writers / creators to pursue their art, and is a speaker for colleges and community groups on Native issues, leadership, writing.

Rendon is an award-winning author of a fresh new murder mystery series, and also has an extensive body of fiction and nonfiction works.

The creative mind behind Raving Native Theater, Rendon has also curated community created performances such as Art Is… Creative Native Resilience, featuring three Anishinabe performance artists, which premiered on TPT (Twin Cities Public Television), June 2019.

Rendon was recognized as a 50 over 50 Change-maker by MN AARP and POLLEN in 2018. Rendon and Diego Vazquez received a 2017 Loft Spoken Word Immersion Fellowship for their work with women incarcerated in county jails.



Rendon's new play "Sweet Revenge" has been selected for a staged reading at the Oklahoma Indigenous Theater Company's 2020 New Native American Play Festival!

Yellow Medicine Review, Spring 2020 | The Racism Issue

You can find Rendon's poem "I Come From" in this timely new release.

Guest Edited by Zibiquah, a.k.a Ruth Denny

Cover photo by Theodore C. Van Alst, Jr.

The issue also includes work by Stephanie Autumn, Irkar Beljaars, Tawahum Justin Bige, Joseph Borja, Anna Cardon, Asani Charles, Ruth Denny, Alolika A. Dutta, Zoe Eddy, Alicia Espino, Jonathon B. Ferrini, Robert Rene Galvan, Jason Hockaday, Boderra Joe, Linda Zamora Lucero, Maiah A. Merino, Jessica Mehta, MariJo Moore, Zach Murphy, Delaney Olmo, Teresa Peterson, Rita Pyrillis, Noemi Serrano, V. Jean Tahdooahnippah, and Autumn White Eyes

Yellow Medicine Review is a journal of indigenous literature, art and thought.


"Girl Gone Missing" was nominated for the G.P. Putnam Sons' Sue Grafton Memorial Award, honoring the best novel in a series featuring a female protagonist in a series.

Murder Mystery Novel Series

Murder on the Red

Rendon's first novel in the Cash murder mystery series. Murder on the Red River (2017 Cinco Puntos Press) introduces us to "Cash" Renee Blackbear. It's the 1970s, in a rural and small town part of the world where the Red River divides Minnesota and North Dakota.

It’s a tough place to live but Cash is tough as nails herself - has been, ever since a mysterious lawman Sheriff Wheaton pulled her from her mother’s wrecked car when she was three. He kept an eye out for her as she navigated through foster homes, started working farms at age 13, and led a hardcore lifestyle of drinking, smoking, and playing pool in her off hours - all for cash.

Wheaton wants her to take hold of her life, get into junior college. Then a dead Indian is found lying in a field, and Cash dreams about the dead man’s HUD house on the Red Lake Reservation, mother and kids waiting. She has that kind of knowing. That’s the place to start looking. There’s a long and dangerous way to go to find the men who killed him.

Murder on the Red River won the Pinckley Women’s Debut Crime Novel Award, 2018. It was a Western Writers of America Spur Award Finalist 2018 in the Contemporary Novel category.

"Feisty, sensitive, and smart." - Publishers Weekly

Rendon delves deep into the history of Native American communities and the danger of forcing assimilation on a community outside the mainstream of American cultural norms."- Twin Cities Pioneer Press

Girl Gone Missing

Girl Gone Missing (Cinco Puntos Press 2019) is the second novel in the Cash murder mystery series.

Cash is back! Renee "Cash" Blackbear is now in college, and it turns out she’s smart, real smart. But she’s also like a duck out of water at Moorhead State. Her classmates and professors talk mostly about nothing, not like the working men she’s known all her life who talk dirt and fertilizer, weather and prices on the Grain Exchange.

Then Cash hears about a blonde girl in her English class who has gone missing... and then another. She begins to dream they are calling for help, and they’re in Minneapolis. She’s never been far from the Red River. Suddenly, she’s locked inside a room with the lost girls. She needs to find a way out.

“Against the landscape of a 1970s college town, the disappearance of a classmate draws Cash into a web of dreams, deceit and danger...Cash grows in maturity to a young woman tough and resourceful, generous of spirit, protective, and courageous. A wonderful read, heart-stopping, heartrending and heartening, often all at the same time.” Linda LeGarde Grover, author of The Road Back to Sweetgrass

"The vivid writing and keen eye keep the pages turning and readers hoping for another book in this series."Wendy J. Fox, Buzzfeed

2020 Edgar Award Nominee for best novel in a series featuring a female protagonist.

Nonfiction Works

Farmer's Market

In this profile of two families, the Thaos (Hmong) and the Kornders (Polish-German), adults and children work together to raise food from seedlings to harvest, and sell the produce at an international farmers' market in Minnesota. CarolRhoda

Powwow Summer

Life is a circle, just like the seasons, from youth through old age.

Follow this indigenous family as they travel from their home on the Red Lake Reservation in Minnesota to powwows all around the region. MN Historical Press

Native Artists

This work shares the livelihoods, resources, space, and gifts of Native American artists living in Minnesota. By Marcie Rendon, Ann Markusen. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota, 2009

Artistic Statement

We are kept in their mindset as “vanished peoples.” Or as workers, not creators… What does this erasing of individual identity do to us? Can you believe you exist if you look in a mirror and see no reflection? What happens when one group controls the mirror market?

As Native people, we have known that in order to survive we had to create, re-create, produce, re-produce. The effect of the denial of our existence is that many of us have become invisible…the systematic disruption of our families by the removal of our children was effective for silencing our voices.

However, not (everyone) can still that desire, that up-welling inside that says sing, write, draw, move, be… we can sing our hearts out, tell our stories, paint our visions…we are in a position to create a more human reality…in order to live we have to make our own mirrors.